Closure

I have it.

excusedfromclass

(From the Chalkboard Manifesto.  It’s not exactly my sentiments, but it made me chuckle nonetheless.)

I submitted the grades for my final course at TCC yesterday.

This class was unique to my experience at TCC in a number of ways:

•  For starters, there were 17 students in the class, but they were literally never in the same room at the same time.  Never ONCE, in the entire 11 weeks of the course, did I have the full roster in attendance.  That’s never happened to me before.

•  Four of the 17 failed outright.  Though that in itself isn’t all that unusual, I’m pretty sure that one of them took a record.  I’d have to do a bit of research to be sure, I’m fairly certain that I recorded the lowest grade ever – one student “earned” an 11.6.

•  I feel the least successful with this class.  I’m not sure why it is, but I don’t feel as though these students came away from our mutual experience any better off than they were when they started.  I didn’t see anyone’s proverbial light bulbs go on, and I fully expect that most of them felt as though the course amounted to little more than an inconvenient waste of their time.  Their work and performances certainly didn’t belie any particular effort or epiphanies on their part.

The upshot is that I’m glad to be done.  A small part of me is disappointed that I wasn’t asked back to teach another course; even though the college is closing in October, there are still a few students left who require English classes, though I suspect that most of them will either be hybrids or independent studies.  Looking back on this last class, though, I feel like I can walk away satisfied that it really is time; it wouldn’t be unfair to characterize the atmosphere around campus as depressing, and I think I’d have a hard time mustering up enthusiasm for another course.

I’m grateful for the experiences I’ve had teaching at TCC.  I’ve learned a great deal about myself and my practice as a result of my nearly three years as an adjunct professor within those walls.  The ride is over, however, and I’m looking forward to my next adventures secure in the knowledge that the skills and experience I’ve acquired during my tenure at TCC will serve me well.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Closure

  1. kizzbeth

    Seems as though the lack of successful students is a product of a sort of lame duck college. As things wind down there will be very few kids trying to finish up before the college goes and more kids who just can’t be bothered to make the effort to move or who simply don’t have other options.

    Sounds like you hung in there just long enough. Congratulations on your completion!

  2. Closure is usually always bittersweet, isn’t it? I hear both the bitter and the sweet in your post. The great thing? You’ve grown in your three years at TCC, and the next college will be fortunate indeed to get you. Bon voyage!

  3. sphyrnatude

    I’m still amazed that you hung in for three years. I looked at teaching there, and I just couldn’t bring myself to teach elementary school science as “college”. Of course, from what I’ve seen of your work, the English dept. is a lot higher level than the sciences….

    In any case, Job Well Done. I’ve watched you grow through it, and the students that you’ve touched have definitely benefited.

  4. drtombibey

    mrschili,

    Your destiny might be to teach us on the Internet. We are serious in our desire to learn.

    Come visit at my wordpress home base, but also my new FaceBook page. It has gone crazy.

    Dr. B

Leave a Reply

