Grammar Wednesday

This week’s offering was submitted by California Teacher Guy a few weeks ago.  I’m sorry I’m just getting to it now; I’ve been a little out of sorts lately and not really doing such a great job of staying on top of things.  I’m getting better now that our portion of the globe is tipping a bit more toward the sun, however, so things might just be looking up in my world.  Anyway, thanks CTG.  Keep it coming (and keep nudging me when I’m too slow)!


My dear Mrs. Chili,

While staying at a well-known chain motel over Presidents Day weekend,
I couldn’t help but notice this sign high on the wall behind the front
desk. I asked permission to take the photo, and I’m forwarding it to
you with great glee and affection.

Fondly,
CTG

feb09grammarwed-005

Anybody know what “incure” means?

On a slightly different note, I was in a drug store yesterday looking for something to nourish and soften my lovely curls, when I came across this stuff:

images

Grammatically, it’s correct; fortifying is used as an adjective to modify the noun fortifier, but all I could think of when I saw it (after doing a double-take) was an angry second grader – “You lying liar!!!

Happy Wednesday, Everyone!

2 Comments

Filed under Blogroll, colleagues, funniness, Grammar, little bits of nothingness, out in the real world

2 responses to “Grammar Wednesday

  1. Not grammar related, but are you also slightly disturbed by Sci Fi Channel changing its name to SyFy? Just looking at it makes my brain hurt.

  2. fermat

    Sounds like someone was trying to use “legalese” and didn’t bother with the dictionary.

    How about “incur”?

Leave a Reply

