Daily Archives: January 14, 2008

Tagged!

Lara, over at Life, the Ongoing Education, tagged me for a crazy 8 meme. I’ve done this before on my personal blog, but I thought it might be interesting to try it with my professional life in mind. I’ve taken the liberty of changing some of the questions a little to suit my work, and I’ve left off the last “tag eight people to do this” bit. Ready? Here we go:

Eight Things I Am Passionate About About Which I am Passionate

1. Grammar and its proper use.

2. Education, both mine and everyone else’s.

3. Reading. Not only do I enjoy reading, but I find that I learn a lot from the process.

4. Writing. Sometimes, I don’t know what I think about a topic or idea until I start to write about it.

5. My students. Some of them make me absolutely crazy, but I care deeply about all of them, even the ones who couldn’t give a crap about me or what I have to teach them.

6. Improvement. I’m rarely content with “good enough,” and I try to model for my students that the effort it takes to make something better is always worth it.

7. Standards. I’m committed to making my students rise to the bar I’ve set for them, and I don’t think that it’s unreasonable to set that bar higher than it’s historically been set at TCC.

8. Discussion. I learn so much, from both my students and my colleagues, when I engage them in conversation. The viewpoints and ideas they offer me are exciting and challenging, and I come away from our discussions a smarter, better informed and thoughtful person.

Eight Things I Want to Do Before I Die

1. Earn another degree.
2. Teach at a bigger school.
3. Earn a full-time position.
4. Have an office of my own.
5. Work on a committee that sets curriculum and standards.
6. Take cooking courses at TCC.
7. Teach a Lit. and Film course.
8. Establish a well-founded Diversity Club at TCC.

Eight Things I Say Often

1. “Seriously? You don’t have a pen?!”
2. “Listen up; this is important.”
3. “What do YOU think it means?”
4. “I do not accept late work.”
5. “Remember; films and books are separate works of art.”
6. “Have you done the reading?”
7. “Okay, but how did you get from there to here?”
8. “Um…yeah… NO!”

Eight Books I’ve Read Recently (edited to include short stories and poems)

1. Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Lewis Stevenson

2. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

3. Brother of the Mount of Olives by Paul Monette

4. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

5. Courting a Monk by Katherine Min

6. Hamlet by William Shakespeare

7. Sympathy by Paul Lawrence Dunbar

8. The Fall of the House of Usher by Edgar Allan Poe

Eight Songs I Could Listen to Over and Over Again I Use in My Lessons

1. “Cold as it Gets” by Patty Griffin

2. “The Stranger” by Billy Joel

3. “The Soul Cages” by Sting

4. “The Downesaster Alexa” by Billy Joel

5. “The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” by Gordon Lightfoot

6. “Raven” by Dave Matthew’s Band

7. “The Rhythm of Life” by Edwin McCain

8. “Driving the Last Spike” by Genesis

Eight Movies I Have Seen Eight Times Use in Lessons

1. Frankenstein (the Hallmark production)
2. A Christmas Carol (the Patrick Stewart production)
3. Hamlet (the Franco Zeffirelli production)
4. Glory
5. Nuremberg (the TNT production)
6. Mississippi Burning
7. The Last Samurai
8. Ever After

Happy Monday, Everyone!

6 Comments

Filed under Blogroll, film as literature, Gay/Straight Alliance, Grammar, I love my boss, Learning, Literature, little bits of nothingness, out in the real world, Poetry, popular culture, Questions, reading, self-analysis, success!, Teaching, the good ones, The Job, writing