Happy New Year!

images.jpgI’m spending this last day of ’07 cleaning out my desk. I’ve recycled old teaching contracts, I’ve reorganized short stories, and I’ve filed away old grade reports. I’m planning on spending a little time this afternoon with the new texts for my classes and thinking about what I’m going to focus on when the courses start again on the 7th.

My professional resolutions for 2008 are pretty simple; I want to continue to learn and to think and to challenge myself. To that end, I applied for – and was accepted to – a summer fellowship at NOT Local State College. The program focuses on teaching the Holocaust and even though I don’t have any classes in which I can concentrate on that subject, I do manage to work it into every course I do teach. I’m very much looking forward to the work – the reading, the studying, the discussion – and am hoping that the experience helps me to become a better teacher… and a better human being.

I’m also hoping to get in on as many workshops, symposiums, conferences, and professional development classes as I can manage. Part of my motivation for this is to keep my teaching certification current (it comes due for renewal in 2009 and, even though I’m not actually using it as an adjunct at TCC, I still want to have it ready should I decide to take the (suicidal?) plunge into public education). I’m also getting that student itch again – I’m pretty convinced that I could be a professional student if given half a chance (and, you know, half a zillion dollars). It’s been almost two years since I graduated, and I’m feeling the need to start studying again.

Finally, I want to put all my materials on my computer.  I’ve got so many steno notebooks kicking around with bits and pieces of my courses in them, and I’m hoping to take a cue from O’Mama and put all of it in files on my computer so that I can just print out a lesson or a unit and go.  I also really like the idea of being able to modify, change, or improve upon a lesson once it’s in the computer without having to make notes or add stickies to the notebook.  I’m hoping that putting stuff in the computer will make it not only more accessible, but also more user-friendly and comprehensible.

I wish all of you a very happy and healthy 2008! See you in January!

4 Comments

Filed under about writing, concerns, frustrations, Learning, out in the real world, self-analysis, Teaching, writing

4 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Only half a zillion dollars?

  2. happy new year, mrs. chili! :)

  3. Dear Mrs Chili,

    Thank you for all your wonderful comments, inspiring posts and Wednesday grammar lessons. My English wouldn’t be the same without you!

    Have a wonderful, healthy and happy 2008!

    Frumteacher

Leave a Reply

