Checking In

Hi, Everyone!

I’m sorry I missed Grammar Wednesday yesterday; the combination of break, the holidays, and my family all being home has conspired to throw me off my game a little (but in a good way). I’ll pick it back up next week, I promise.

I’ve been thinking about my upcoming classes and about how I’m going to run my hybrid composition course this term. I’ve had hybrid classes before, but I don’t like teaching them; the online component, I think, is never what I want it to be and I’m trying to figure a way to change that. I want the students to have to actually, you know, work, but I don’t feel I’ve got much of a command of the resources available to me on the internet to make proper use of them. This is what’s been occupying my mind lately; trying to come up with ways to use the incredible amount of material and content available on the internet to make my composition class rich, challenging, and interesting.

Any suggestions?

I hope you’re all having a lovely midwinter. I’ll be writing here more regularly now; do keep coming back.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Checking In

  1. Will they be going online, or are you talking about things you would print out and use? Or like lesson ideas? There’s SO MUCH out there! :D

  2. Clix, I’ll take ANYTHING you want to offer me. I’ve been really unhappy with the way I’ve been running hybrid classes, and, the way I figure it, I can only get better. Bring it on, is what I’m sayin’ here, Girl!

  3. Well, first off, what do you mean by “hybrid” course?

  4. It’s a class that meets once a week – on Monday mornings – for two hours. The rest of the credit hours are done “online,” whatever the instructor cares to make that mean.

    In the past, I’ve just given them homework assignments that have to be submitted to me via the internet and called that the online portion of the class. I’m insanely dissatisfied with that, though, as I know that most of the students did insufficient work to make the online portion any kind of valuable.

    What I really want is to make the kids learn half the class material on their own – a long shot, given that most of them, in my experience, aren’t exactly self-starters. I’m trying to figure out a way that I can direct them to websites and activities that will teach them the concepts that I WOULD be giving them if we met Monday/Wednesday – making them do the “Wednesday” part of the class on their own. I’ve just got to decide HOW I’m going to do that and WHERE to send them online to get the material – oh, and what to have them do to demonstrate that they’ve actually DONE it…

  5. There are a variety of options. I get a lot of my short stories from the internet. Maybe have students look for literary websites and “grade” them in terms of content and organization, presenting a justification for the grade they give the site.

    Students who like to talk might enjoy setting up meeting times on bulletin boards and doing literature circles that way. I’m not as keen on this one because it seems like something you could do in class…

    Maybe finding author blogs and dialoguing about plot development and character archetypes and such. Or fan-run discussion boards. You might be surprised at the amount of literary analysis that goes on for popular books!

    This is just off the top of my head. It’s kind of overwhelming TBH :) I feel like I’m leaving lots out (and I probably am)!

Leave a Reply

