Daily Archives: November 16, 2007

It’s Not EXACTLY What I Wanted…

… but it’s still a literature class!

images-1.jpg

I just got off the phone with Joe, my boss, about my schedule for next semester. I was really hoping for that Monday night literature class – running, as I was, on the assumption that the woman who usually snaps up all the daytime lit. classes would have had her way with the schedule by now.

It turns out, though, that she’s not teaching literature this coming term, but that the evening class that I had so hoped for has been taken by someone with far more seniority than I currently have. It also turns out, however, that there’s a daytime class – Mondays and Wednesdays from 8:40-10:50 – that’s available. At least, it was, until I grabbed it. I also managed to score a hybrid composition class from 11:10-1:00 on Mondays and a lab duty on Thursday nights from 6:00-8:30.

From what I understand, my responsibility to the lab class is to be a knowledgeable adult in the room and to help students with writing issues they may encounter for the time I’m there; there’s no prep and no formal teaching involved – I’ll be essentially an on-duty tutor. Joe tells me that I’ll likely spend most of my time “playing solitaire,” but I expect I’ll put that time to better use: I foresee a lot of good reading and grading time in my future.

The ONLY downside of this is that my schedule is shifting to a Monday/Wednesday scheme, and I was really hoping to keep my Tuesday/Thursday routine going. I still teach a step class on Wednesday mornings from 9-10:15, and I’m going to have to give that up – perhaps permanently – because of my TCC commitment. It was a hard choice for me to make, really; I’ve worked for the health club longer than I’ve worked for TCC and I feel I owe no small amount of loyalty to the club, but my professional heart lies with English teaching, not fitness instruction. Besides, I would have totally wrecked my credibility with Joe: I lobbied too hard for a literature class to turn around and tell him “no, thank you.”

So, long story short is YAY! I got another literature class! All your crossed fingers really helped! Thanks!

7 Comments

Filed under I love my boss, Literature, success!, Teaching

A Little Too Good to Be True

Yeah, I’ll admit it; my semester hasn’t been all puppies and rainbows.

I’ve been a lot more casual with my students this semester. My classes have been smaller and, partly because of the more intimate environment that smaller classes encourage, I’ve been a little lax in my usual strict policies. I’ve let students hand things in late – in some cases, very late – and I’ve been willing to give a little more credit for in-class work and participation than I probably should.

Now, I’m getting to live out the consequences of that laxity. I remember my graduate school adviser warning me that, as far as classroom policy goes, “it’s easier to loosen up than to tighten up,” and he’s right – though I wonder how much loosening up is ever a good idea.  Anyway, I announced to my all of students, after the mid-term, that the second half of the semester would see the reinstatement of the policies outlined in the syllabus: late work won’t be accepted, being absent doesn’t excuse one from responsibility for the work for that day, and failure to focus during class time will result in reduced credit (or outright expulsion) from the class.

After I plugged in all the zeros that my literature students have earned for not turning in their work (of the eight kids I’ve got in the class, only half of them actually turned in mid terms, for example), fully half of them are failing. I told them yesterday that, if they emailed me to ask what they were missing (though they should KNOW), I would check my grade book, give them their list, and would accept their work no later than this coming Tuesday. After that, I said, I wasn’t taking anything in late.

Only one of them has emailed me, and she isn’t among the students in the greatest danger of having to retake this class again next semester.

This is a valuable lesson for me. I really do think it’s better – and more fair to everyone – that I start and maintain very clear, very firm policies about the work we do in my classes. Students who aren’t going to do the work anyway won’t do it whether I’m a hard-ass about it or not, and knowing that I’ve been fair and consistent from the outset will reduce a lot of MY stress, too.

4 Comments

Filed under concerns, frustrations, Learning, student chutzpah, Teaching