Daily Archives: April 29, 2007

I Can’t Stand It

This afternoon, the Chili family was over at Bowyer’s, goofing around, watching the Red Sox at the Yankees, and just generally lazing about. I brought my computer because, well, I’m not really a huge baseball fan and I thought I might like to do a little surfing from Bowyer’s wireless.

I went up to the little arrow in the top right corner of my blog (see it up there?) and pushed it to see what would happen. It directed me to a blog – I’m assuming one that was randomly chosen by some algorithm – and I read for a bit, then I hit the arrow again.

I’m sad to say that there was really not very much that interested me, but that’s not what I’m writing here about; what prompted me to write the title of this post were entries like this one:images-23.jpeg

he whole bloody post just disappeared right infront of mi.
damn, i hate this.
yet another crazy night at s club.
jas’s sis’s bf’s bro’s bday party.
distance i know.  ANYWAY,

Excuse me, dear, but were you a student of mine?

It seems, from my (admittedly brief) foray into WordPress, that a lot of this sort of thing happens in the blogging world. It also seems that the bloggers who use this service are either techno-geeks (I found this blog, which is actually very well written. It caught my eye because of the teddy bear USB device; scroll down once you get there to see it – it’s pretty funny) or holy rollers (there are an AWFUL lot of blogs devoted to Bible study and church events). Now, I have to disclaim that I have no evidence to support these generalizations beyond my about half-hour cruise with the arrow button, so I could be full of shit here. You can push the arrow and decide for yourself.

I think that the NaBloPoMo Randomizer is still online, if you’re interested in doing some unmapped surfing. I can’t vouch for the literacy of the content, but I do know that all these bloggers agreed to Fussy’s NaBloPoMo back in November, and I found some GREAT blogs through that….

3 Comments

Filed under about writing, General Griping, little bits of nothingness