Daily Archives: April 3, 2007

You’re Not Going to Believe This….

I was perusing the rosters for my new classes, and guess who’s scheduled for my Monday hybrid public speaking class.

No, really; go ahead and guess.

Give up?

images-2.jpeg

‘Megadeth’ Dave!

I shit you not.

I emailed Joe about this little discovery this morning, but I haven’t heard anything back from him yet. While I don’t want to go to him whining that I don’t want this kid in my class (because, really, I don’t – but I recognize that griping about it is not a very professional way for me to behave), I do think it’s important to give him the heads-up that Dave and I are scheduled to be together again this coming term. I also want to point out to Joe that if Dave DOES stay in my class, my strategies in dealing with him are going to be significantly different than they’ve been in the past. Dave WILL be courteous and professional in ALL his dealings with me or I WILL kick his ass out of my classroom AND report him to the proper authority figures. Since Joe is the first authority figure I go to, it only seems fair to shout out a warning to the man.

Not only that, but I will make a point of forcing Dave’s appropriate participation in the class; the last time he failed my public speaking class, he did so by sitting in the back of the room and doing nothing. His speeches, when he showed up for them, were insubstantial and poorly delivered (no more speeches about Kurt Cobain or Megadeth) and he never – NEVER – turned in any homework. I’m not going to chase the boy down or treat him any differently than I will the other students in the class, but I’m not going to give him any credit for ‘time served,’ either.

I’m really, REALLY hoping that he’ll realize that he’s signed up for me and transfer out before the course even starts (and Organic Mama is really hoping he doesn’t transfer INTO her class). I don’t know whether Joe will see fit to move the kid (I hope he does), but I’m not going to press the issue. I really don’t have any legitimate concerns about having the student in my class; I know that I CAN handle him, it will just be a much nicer semester if I don’t HAVE to…

11 Comments

Filed under General Griping