Daily Archives: January 20, 2007

Ready or Not

My Monday/Online kids come back to class in two days.  They are NOT going to be pleased.

I’ve decided that I’m only going to make PASSING reference to the work the students did (or didn’t do) from the last class.  I’m not going to make a big deal out of it because I don’t want the class to be adversarial.  I will win pissing matches with the students – I have no doubt about that.  I just choose not to engage them in such contests; I just don’t have the energy.

What I AM going to do, though, is to load them up with notes on Monday.  They missed a class because of MLK Day, so they’re already behind.  The fact that they only meet with me once a week means that I’ve had FOUR classes with my Tuesday/Thursday kids; the Monday kids have some serious catching up to do.  I’m also going to collect their journals (I’ll send them an email when I’m finished with this post to give them a heads-up that they’ll be turning those in) and set them to some quantity of reading for the second half of class.

They’ll be going home with the same assignment I sent my face-to-face kids home with on Thursday: write two one-page papers and then a reflection on the writing process.

I seriously suspect that they’ll also be going home with a few choice thoughts about me and my little class, too…

witch.jpeg

4 Comments

Filed under General Griping, Teaching