Membership Has Its Privileges


I was in Barnes & Nobel today, meeting a friend for a bit of cocoa and conversation. While I was there, I picked up a book we promised my father-in-law for his birthday and, well, a couple of other things.

While I was standing in line doing quick math in my head (okay, I’ll ‘fess up, I have to round everything to the nearest, oh, five dollars. My math skills really suck), I figured I had about eighty bucks’ worth of books. Yikes. While figuring, and keeping track of my small people, I heard someone behind a register talking about a teachers’ discount. Hello? Could you say that again, please?

So, when my turn came, I asked my very pierced checkout girl what the whole “teachers’ discount” thing was about. She turned expectantly to her manager, who proceeded to explain to me that, if I could provide a paystub or a picture ID from my school, I could take advantage of the promotion. It gives me 20% off of school related books (but not textbooks, he explained, because B & N doesn’t get discounts off of them from the publisher and, therefore, can’t pass along a discount to the customer) and discounts on other things like DVDs and games during their special educators’ weeks, which he’d be happy to inform me of if I provided my email address.

It turns out he was willing to take my word for it that I worked in a high school, since I had neither my ID nor a paystub to offer as proof of my eligibility. I’m pretty sure my selection of books helped my case quite a bit – I had the Arden Complete Shakespeare and a bunch of SparkNotes folders about grammar, composition and annotation; not exactly bedside reading for most folks.

After my discount, I still payed over seventy bucks. It’s okay, though – I got a new book for the girls, my FIL’s birthday present, a really nice annotated complete works of the Bard, and a bunch of easy-to-follow quick references that are very helpful in making mini-lesson plans.

Have I mentioned before how much I LOVE books?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Membership Has Its Privileges

  1. It’s great that they give teachers some kind of break. The sad thing is that they give professional athletes and movie stars all their books for free!~,:^)

Leave a Reply

